HandicapDocs Logo


You are required by Florida law to get your handicap permit in the state of Florida if you have your driver’s license or registration in Florida. HandicapDocs makes it easy to obtain a disabled parking permit.

However, your permit is legal in every state. All states have agreed to reciprocate, so if you obtained your permit in another state in which you have a license or registration, you can use your permit anywhere in the US including Florida.

A Handicap Placard in Florida may be issued only for a medical necessity that severely affects mobility. If you have a disability that makes you unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest or if you are legally blind you may qualify for a handicap parking permit.

REQUIREMENTS For a Handicap Parking Placard in Florida:

If you are a Florida resident, the following are the requirements:

  • Severely limited mobility due to an orthopedic, neurological or arthritic condition.
  • Restrictions as a result of lung disease or the need for a portable oxygen tank.
  • Moderately severe or severe cardiac conditions, Class III or Class IV.
  • Need for use of a wheelchair.
  • Legal blindness.


The application form HSMV 83039 must be accurately completed, certified and signed by a physician, verifying the disability. (This is where we are needed and can help).


When you go to the local tax collector, FLHSMV, DMV, or tag agency, there is a $15 fee for a temporary parking placard. Renewal of the temporary placard within the first year is free, and after a year its $15.

There is no charge for a Permanent Parking Placard.

If you have never applied for a disabled handicap pass before, you must bring in your doctor-signed HSMV 83039 form, in person, to a local tag agency or DMV/tax collector’s office.  Please note that we have been told that these offices are not accepting photocopies of the form.  You must bring in the original.  Don’t worry.  We mail you the original signed form. If it is not your first time with a disabled parking pass and it’s still within the first year, you can get a new permit by mail.


The handicap parking placard hangs from your rearview mirror and can be taken down and stored away when not in use.

It is necessary to display it when parking in a handicap spot. You can also request a handicap plate if you choose, which is generally for permanent disabilities and if you choose a license plate, then a hanging rear view mirror placard is unnecessary.

If you are a frequent traveler or you are a quadriplegic, you can receive more than one placard.


If you are a disabled veteran, license plates are also available for Florida residents, as long as your disability is at least 50% service-related and verified by the Federal Government or the Veteran’s Administration. We can help you with this (Form HSMV 83007) also.

Special Exception of Florida Handicap Parking Permit

If you are here in Florida part time or if you are here on vacation or a short trip, you are still able to get a disabled parking permit in Florida, even if you have a driver’s license in another state.  If you have questions, please feel free to call 954.659.8600, or just gather up some of your medical records and click one of the buttons on this page to get started.